Skip to content
Rebuya

BUYER GUIDE

Refurbished iPhone 14 Pro Max Buying Guide (US, 2026)

How to buy a refurbished iPhone 14 Pro Max in the US, from eSIM and carrier fit to battery and repair checks, grades, returns, and the offer Rebuya lists now.

A refurbished iPhone 14 Pro Max is a sensible buy when the unit is the US model, your carrier supports eSIM on it, and the seller gives you a return window long enough to test it properly. Apple introduced this phone in 2022 and sold it in 128 GB, 256 GB, 512 GB and 1 TB, and the US version has no SIM tray (Apple).

Rebuya sells nothing and inspects nothing. We put each seller's own condition words, price, warranty and return terms next to each other and link you out to the seller.

US eSIM and carrier fit

Start with the model number, not the name in the listing. Apple lists A2651 as the iPhone 14 Pro Max model for the United States and Puerto Rico (Apple). A seller's generic label like "iPhone 14 Pro Max (Unlocked)" does not tell you which regional variant you will receive, so ask, or check the number once the phone arrives.

The US version matters because, in Apple's words, "In the United States, there's no SIM tray" (Apple). That means the phone runs on eSIM only. Before you pay, confirm with the carrier you plan to use that they will activate an eSIM on this device and on your account type.

Unlocked status is worth a look too. Apple says an unlocked iPhone shows "No SIM Restrictions" next to Carrier Lock in Settings (Apple). A listing can say unlocked and still be worth checking on the actual unit, so test activation with your carrier during the return window rather than after it.

Apple's carrier-unlocking instructions show where to check the lock status.

Battery and parts

Apple says batteries in iPhone 14 models and earlier "are designed to retain 80 percent of their original capacity at 500 complete charge cycles under ideal conditions" (Apple). That is a design rating for a new battery. It tells you nothing about the capacity of the particular refurbished phone in front of you, which depends on how it was used before you.

Once the phone arrives, Apple directs owners of iPhone 11 through 14 models to Settings > Battery > Battery Health & Charging to see maximum capacity and performance information (Apple). Read that number on day one. Some sellers state a minimum battery health in the listing and some do not, so treat it as something that varies by listing and check before you buy.

Repair history has its own screen. Apple says that if an iPhone has been repaired, you can check Parts and Service History under Settings > General > About on iOS 15.2 or later, and the fields shown depend on the model and what was repaired (Apple). A repaired phone is not a bad phone, but you should know what was replaced, and that screen is where to find out.

For a fuller walkthrough of reading and interpreting the battery screens, see our Apple's battery health guide.

Display and camera checks

Apple describes this model as having three cameras on the back, Ultra Wide, Main and Telephoto (Apple). Open the Camera app and switch through all three, then shoot something close, something far and something in dim light. You are looking for focus that locks, lenses free of haze or scratches, and no camera that fails to switch in. Test the front camera and Face ID as well.

For the display, put up a plain white image at full brightness and look for dark spots, tints or lines. Then show a black screen in a dark room and look for bright specks or uneven patches. Drag an icon slowly across the whole screen to catch any dead touch zones. Sellers describe cosmetic wear in their own words, so match what you see against the listing's description rather than against a general idea of "good."

Grade and coverage

There is no shared grading scale across refurbished sellers. Each one uses its own words, and Rebuya shows those words exactly as the seller wrote them, without translating them into a single scale or verifying them. Read the exact selected listing for its condition wording and return window.

Warranty length and exclusions vary by listing. Read the seller's terms at checkout before paying. The return window is the most useful part of the coverage for a buyer, because it is the time you have to run the checks above. Make sure it is long enough for the phone to arrive and for you to activate it with your carrier.

Current iPhone 14 Pro Max offers

The table below uses Rebuya's current records for this exact model. Confirm the price, condition and stock on the seller's listing.

CURRENT REBUYA RECORDS

Seller and exact listingStorageGradeListed priceReturnsWarrantyCheckedListing
Wireless SourceApple iPhone 14 Pro Max • Certified, 128 GB, Space BlackApple iPhone 14 Pro Max • Certified, 128 GB, Space BlackCheck listingCertified Refurbished$479.99Not statedNot recordedOct 12, 2026, 4:20 PM EDTCheck seller ↗
Wireless SourceApple iPhone 14 Pro Max • Certified, 128 GB, GoldApple iPhone 14 Pro Max • Certified, 128 GB, GoldCheck listingCertified Refurbished$479.99Not statedNot recordedOct 12, 2026, 4:20 PM EDTCheck seller ↗
Wireless SourceApple iPhone 14 Pro Max • Certified, 128 GB, Deep PurpleApple iPhone 14 Pro Max • Certified, 128 GB, Deep PurpleCheck listingCertified Refurbished$479.99Not statedNot recordedOct 12, 2026, 4:20 PM EDTCheck seller ↗
Wireless SourceApple iPhone 14 Pro Max • Certified, 128 GB, SilverApple iPhone 14 Pro Max • Certified, 128 GB, SilverCheck listingCertified Refurbished$479.99Not statedNot recordedOct 12, 2026, 4:20 PM EDTCheck seller ↗
Wireless SourceApple iPhone 14 Pro Max • Certified, 128 GB, Space BlackApple iPhone 14 Pro Max • Certified, 128 GB, Space BlackCheck listingCertified Refurbished$489.99Not statedNot recordedOct 12, 2026, 4:20 PM EDTCheck seller ↗
Wireless SourceApple iPhone 14 Pro Max • Certified, 128 GB, GoldApple iPhone 14 Pro Max • Certified, 128 GB, GoldCheck listingCertified Refurbished$489.99Not statedNot recordedOct 12, 2026, 4:20 PM EDTCheck seller ↗
Wireless SourceApple iPhone 14 Pro Max • Certified, 128 GB, Deep PurpleApple iPhone 14 Pro Max • Certified, 128 GB, Deep PurpleCheck listingCertified Refurbished$489.99Not statedNot recordedOct 12, 2026, 4:20 PM EDTCheck seller ↗
Wireless SourceApple iPhone 14 Pro Max • Certified, 128 GB, SilverApple iPhone 14 Pro Max • Certified, 128 GB, SilverCheck listingCertified Refurbished$489.99Not statedNot recordedOct 12, 2026, 4:20 PM EDTCheck seller ↗
Wireless SourceApple iPhone 14 Pro Max • Certified, 128 GB, Space BlackApple iPhone 14 Pro Max • Certified, 128 GB, Space BlackCheck listingCertified Refurbished$499.99Not statedNot recordedOct 12, 2026, 4:20 PM EDTCheck seller ↗
Wireless SourceApple iPhone 14 Pro Max • Certified, 128 GB, GoldApple iPhone 14 Pro Max • Certified, 128 GB, GoldCheck listingCertified Refurbished$499.99Not statedNot recordedOct 12, 2026, 4:20 PM EDTCheck seller ↗
Wireless SourceApple iPhone 14 Pro Max • Certified, 128 GB, Deep PurpleApple iPhone 14 Pro Max • Certified, 128 GB, Deep PurpleCheck listingCertified Refurbished$499.99Not statedNot recordedOct 12, 2026, 4:20 PM EDTCheck seller ↗
Wireless SourceApple iPhone 14 Pro Max • Certified, 128 GB, SilverApple iPhone 14 Pro Max • Certified, 128 GB, SilverCheck listingCertified Refurbished$499.99Not statedNot recordedOct 12, 2026, 4:20 PM EDTCheck seller ↗

These are dated seller records, not a live check of each seller page. Shipping and tax may change the total. Confirm condition, stock, returns and warranty on the seller's listing.

What to check before you buy

  • The model number is A2651 if you need the US variant, and the seller will confirm it (Apple).
  • Your carrier will activate an eSIM on this phone, because the US model has no SIM tray (Apple).
  • The listing says unlocked, and you plan to confirm "No SIM Restrictions" on the unit (Apple).
  • The seller states a battery health minimum, or you accept that it varies and will check it on arrival.
  • The return window is long enough to activate, test the cameras and display, and read the repair history.
  • The warranty terms and exclusions are on the listing.
  • The price you pay includes tax and shipping, which the recorded price does not.

FAQ

Does the US iPhone 14 Pro Max have a SIM tray? No. Apple states that in the United States there is no SIM tray on this model, so it uses eSIM only (Apple).

How do I tell if a refurbished iPhone 14 Pro Max is really unlocked? Apple says an unlocked iPhone shows "No SIM Restrictions" next to Carrier Lock in Settings (Apple). Check it on the actual unit and activate with your carrier inside the return window.

What battery health should I expect on a refurbished unit? It varies by phone. Apple's design rating is 80 percent capacity at 500 complete charge cycles under ideal conditions, which describes a new battery, not a specific used one (Apple). Check Battery Health & Charging when it arrives.

Can I see whether the phone was repaired before I got it? Yes, on iOS 15.2 or later. Apple's Parts and Service History appears under Settings > General > About, and the fields shown depend on the model and the repairs done (Apple).

Where can I compare current prices? The dated table above shows current qualifying listings and links to each seller.

Does Rebuya inspect or guarantee these phones? No. Rebuya does not sell, inspect, grade or guarantee any device. It shows each seller's own words and terms side by side and links to the seller, who handles the sale, warranty and returns.

Compare the current offers on the iPhone 15 Pro Max vs 14 Pro Max page.

Sources and method

Seller listings and prices can change after publication. How Rebuya collects prices · Affiliate disclosure. Some seller links may pay Rebuya a commission, without changing the listed price.