Skip to content
Rebuya

BUYER GUIDE

Refurbished iPhone 12 buying guide

How to buy a refurbished iPhone 12 in the US. The exact model to look for, battery and repair history checks, carrier lock, and what warranty terms mean.

A refurbished iPhone 12 can be a sensible buy if you know exactly which model you are getting and what the seller promises. The phone came out in 2020, so battery health and repair history matter more than they would on a newer device. This guide covers the checks to run and the terms to read before you pay.

iPhone 12, mini, Pro and Pro Max are different phones

The name "iPhone 12" gets used loosely in listings, so start by pinning down the model. Apple lists the iPhone 12 with "Year introduced: 2020", "Capacity: 64, 128, 256 GB" and the US model number "A2172 (United States)" on its model identification page.

The mini, Pro and Pro Max carry their own names and model numbers. This guide covers the standard iPhone 12 only. If a listing says "iPhone 12" but the photos or specs look different, compare them against Apple's page before you trust the title.

Two details from Apple help you confirm what you are looking at. The iPhone 12 has "two 12 MP cameras on the back: Ultra Wide and Wide", and "the IMEI is etched on the SIM tray", according to Apple. A seller's model name is not proof of the number printed on the unit, so ask for the model number or check it yourself once the phone arrives.

Battery and software support

Batteries are the main age risk on a phone from 2020. Apple says "batteries of iPhone 14 models and earlier are designed to retain 80 percent of their original capacity at 500 complete charge cycles under ideal conditions", per its battery page. That is a design rating for the battery type, not a measurement of any particular refurbished unit.

To see the actual number on a phone you receive, Apple directs iPhone 11 to 14 owners to Battery > Battery Health & Charging for maximum capacity and performance information, as described on the same page. If a seller lists a battery health figure, treat it as their claim until you see the screen yourself.

Software support is the other side of age. How many more iOS versions the iPhone 12 will get was not established for this guide, so check Apple's current support pages before you decide. Sellers sometimes mention it in listings, and that wording varies, so read each one.

Screen, carrier lock and parts checks

Three checks take a few minutes once the phone is in your hands. They tell you more than any listing description can.

Repair history. Apple says "if your iPhone has been repaired, you can check Parts and Service History." On iOS 15.2 or later, open Settings > General > About, and the fields shown depend on the model and its repair history, per Apple. This can show whether the screen or battery was replaced, which matters on a refurbished phone where that work is common.

Carrier lock. Apple says an unlocked phone shows "No SIM Restrictions" next to Carrier Lock in Settings, as explained on its unlock page. Test activation with your own carrier on the actual unit rather than relying on the listing. The iPhone 12 has a physical nano-SIM tray according to Apple, but a SIM tray on its own does not prove a given phone is unlocked.

Activation Lock and account state. Whether a specific phone is clear of a previous owner's account is not something a listing can prove. Check it on the device you receive, and know the seller's return window before you do.

Warranty versus savings

The appeal of a refurbished iPhone 12 is paying less than a newer phone. The trade is that you take on an older battery and whatever repair history the phone carries. A warranty and a clear return policy are what balance that trade.

No price comparison against a new phone or another seller was established for this guide, so we cannot tell you how much you save. What we can say is that each seller writes its own condition words, warranty length and return terms, and these differ. A longer warranty on a slightly higher price can be the better deal when the phone is six years old.

Read the exclusions, not just the headline length. Item-specific warranty and return exclusions vary by listing, so check the terms on the listing itself before checkout. Prices shown on Rebuya exclude tax and shipping unless the seller records them, so confirm the final total at checkout.

Rebuya does not inspect, grade or guarantee any phone. It shows each seller's own condition words, prices, warranty and returns side by side so you can compare them in one place, then links you to the seller.

Current iPhone 12 offers

The table below uses Rebuya's current records for the base iPhone 12. Confirm the exact storage, network version, condition and seller terms on the listing.

CURRENT REBUYA RECORDS

Seller and exact listingStorageGradeListed priceReturnsWarrantyCheckedListing
Wireless SourceiPhone 12 | AT&T Only • Certified, 64 GB, BlackiPhone 12 | AT&T Only • Certified, 64 GB, BlackCheck listingCertified Refurbished$162.99Not statedNot recordedOct 12, 2026, 4:20 PM EDTCheck seller ↗
Wireless SourceiPhone 12 | AT&T Only • Certified, 64 GB, BlackiPhone 12 | AT&T Only • Certified, 64 GB, BlackCheck listingCertified Refurbished$171.99Not statedNot recordedOct 12, 2026, 4:20 PM EDTCheck seller ↗
Wireless SourceiPhone 12 | AT&T Only • Certified, 64 GB, BlackiPhone 12 | AT&T Only • Certified, 64 GB, BlackCheck listingCertified Refurbished$180.99Not statedNot recordedOct 12, 2026, 4:20 PM EDTCheck seller ↗
Wireless SourceiPhone 12 | AT&T Only • Certified, 64 GB, BlueiPhone 12 | AT&T Only • Certified, 64 GB, BlueCheck listingCertified Refurbished$180.99Not statedNot recordedOct 12, 2026, 4:20 PM EDTCheck seller ↗
Wireless SourceiPhone 12 | AT&T Only • Certified, 64 GB, RediPhone 12 | AT&T Only • Certified, 64 GB, RedCheck listingCertified Refurbished$180.99Not statedNot recordedOct 12, 2026, 4:20 PM EDTCheck seller ↗
Wireless SourceiPhone 12 | AT&T Only • Certified, 128 GB, BlueiPhone 12 | AT&T Only • Certified, 128 GB, BlueCheck listingCertified Refurbished$184.99Not statedNot recordedOct 12, 2026, 4:20 PM EDTCheck seller ↗
Wireless SourceiPhone 12 | AT&T Only • Certified, 128 GB, BlueiPhone 12 | AT&T Only • Certified, 128 GB, BlueCheck listingCertified Refurbished$202.99Not statedNot recordedOct 12, 2026, 4:20 PM EDTCheck seller ↗
Wireless SourceiPhone 12 | AT&T Only • Certified, 256 GB, RediPhone 12 | AT&T Only • Certified, 256 GB, RedCheck listingCertified Refurbished$220.99Not statedNot recordedOct 12, 2026, 4:20 PM EDTCheck seller ↗

These are dated seller records, not a live check of each seller page. Shipping and tax may change the total. Confirm condition, stock, returns and warranty on the seller's listing.

What to check before you buy

  • The model number. Apple lists the US iPhone 12 as A2172. Ask for it if the listing does not say.
  • Storage. Apple lists 64, 128 and 256 GB for this model. Make sure the listing matches the capacity you want.
  • Battery health. Check Battery > Battery Health & Charging on arrival, per Apple.
  • Parts and Service History in Settings > General > About, per Apple.
  • Carrier Lock showing "No SIM Restrictions" if you need an unlocked phone, per Apple.
  • The seller's warranty length, return window and exclusions, read on the listing itself.
  • Tax and shipping added to the listed price at checkout.

FAQ

How can I tell an iPhone 12 from a 12 Pro in a listing? Check the model number against Apple's identification page, which lists the US iPhone 12 as A2172. Apple also describes the iPhone 12 as having two 12 MP rear cameras, Ultra Wide and Wide. If the model number is missing, ask the seller before you buy.

How do I check whether a refurbished iPhone 12 has been repaired? Apple says you can check Parts and Service History under Settings > General > About on iOS 15.2 or later. The fields shown depend on the model and what was repaired, per Apple.

What battery health should I expect? There is no single answer, because it depends on the unit. Apple's design rating is 80 percent capacity at 500 complete cycles under ideal conditions, per its battery page. Check the actual figure in Battery > Battery Health & Charging when the phone arrives.

How do I know the phone is unlocked? Apple says an unlocked iPhone shows "No SIM Restrictions" next to Carrier Lock, per its unlock page. Test it with your own SIM on the actual phone. The nano-SIM tray on this model does not by itself prove it is unlocked.

Does Rebuya sell or inspect the phones? No. Rebuya sells nothing and inspects nothing. It shows each seller's own condition words, prices, warranty and returns side by side and links out to the seller.

Where can I see current iPhone 12 offers? Use the dated offer table above, or search Rebuya for iPhone 12.

For the full checklist, read our guide on Apple's preowned iPhone checklist, and see warranties compared before you pick a seller on the iPhone 12 page.

Sources and method

Seller listings and prices can change after publication. How Rebuya collects prices · Affiliate disclosure. Some seller links may pay Rebuya a commission, without changing the listed price.