Skip to content
Rebuya

BUYER GUIDE

Refurbished grades explained across sellers

Compare what Good, Excellent, Premium and Fair mean at Amazon, Back Market, eBay and Walmart, including battery and cosmetic promises.

A refurbished grade describes a seller's condition promise, and that promise changes by program. Best Buy's Outlet page describes it as "restored to like-new condition" and "clean and in working condition" (Best Buy). There is no single rulebook behind the word, so what it promises depends on the program and the grade on the listing in front of you.

Refurbished versus used, open box and renewed

These labels get mixed up, and the sellers themselves draw the lines differently. Here is how the main ones read on the pages we checked.

Open box is a returned product. Best Buy's Outlet page says open box means a returned product, while refurbished means one "restored to like-new condition" (Best Buy). Read the listing for the condition of the item you are buying.

Renewed is Amazon's name for its refurbished program, not a separate kind of product. Amazon Renewed items are graded "Premium, Excellent, Good, or Acceptable" (Amazon).

Used is a plain word, not a program. If a listing says used, read the seller's own description. Read it for what was tested or replaced, if anything.

Refurbished sits in the middle. It tells you work was done, but not who did it, how far it went, or what the grade covers. The next two sections deal with that.

Who did the work

The biggest difference between refurbished programs is who restored the device. Some sellers say this plainly, and some do not.

Apple runs its own program. Apple says refurbished products get "full functional testing" and that "Refurbished iOS devices will come with new battery and outer shell" (Apple). Apple does not publish a Fair, Good or Excellent grade ladder on that page.

eBay Certified is the top of eBay's four grades. eBay describes it as "Pristine, like-new condition direct from the brand or authorized seller" (eBay). The other three eBay grades, Excellent, Very Good and Good, are described by wear rather than by who did the work.

Back Market is a marketplace of refurbishers. Its Premium grade promises "only genuine manufacturer parts and batteries" (Back Market). If genuine parts matter to you, look for that wording on the grade you pick.

Amazon Renewed, Walmart Restored and Best Buy Outlet each publish their own condition rules (Amazon, Walmart, Best Buy). On a marketplace, the listing names the seller behind the item. Save that name, because the return and warranty terms attach to it.

What the grade does and does not promise

A grade is mostly about looks. Back Market says its grades reflect "the appearance of items" while "every device is guaranteed to be 100% functional" (Back Market). Amazon Renewed and Walmart Restored also grade by how far away you have to stand before marks disappear.

Compare one word, "Good", across four sellers.

Scroll table sideways to read all columns.

Seller What its "Good" means Battery floor it states
Amazon Renewed Light scratches "barely visible" at 12 inches (Amazon) ">80% of original battery life" (Amazon)
Back Market Marks invisible at "20 inches" (Back Market) "80% capacity" for smartphones, "85% capacity" for other devices (Back Market)
eBay "Moderate wear" (eBay) Not stated on eBay's grade page, so check the listing
Walmart Restored Scuffs "barely visible" at 12 inches (Walmart) 80% battery "if applicable" (Walmart)

Same word, four different promises. That is why Rebuya shows each seller's own condition words in their own column instead of translating them.

The top grades carry the firmest promises. Amazon Renewed Premium means no screen scratches, body damage not visible at 12 inches, and a battery at ">90% of original battery life" (Amazon). Back Market Premium means "almost no signs of use" and a battery at a "minimum of 90% capacity" (Back Market). Walmart Restored Premium is "Like-new" with micro-scratches invisible at 8 to 12 inches, 90% battery if applicable, and a minimum one-year written warranty for most products (Walmart). eBay Excellent means "no visible wear" (eBay).

At the lower end, the wear is allowed to show. Back Market Fair may have "visible scratches and dents" (Back Market). Amazon Renewed Acceptable scratches may be "clearly visible" with "a maximum of three minor dents" (Amazon). Walmart Restored Fair marks are "visible" (Walmart).

Here is what a grade does not promise.

  • That the same word means the same thing elsewhere. eBay uses "Good, Very Good, Excellent, and Certified" and Amazon uses "Premium, Excellent, Good, or Acceptable" (eBay, Amazon). Shared words do not mean matching thresholds.
  • Accessories. Amazon says item-specific exceptions are "mentioned on the product detail page" (Amazon). Other sellers put this in the listing too, so look before assuming a charger or box.
  • A warranty length, unless the program states one. Walmart Restored Premium states a minimum one-year written warranty for most products (Walmart). Other programs and grades vary by listing, so read the warranty document. Our warranties compared guide lays them side by side.
  • A new battery, except where stated. Apple says iOS devices come with a new battery (Apple). Amazon Renewed, Back Market and Walmart Restored state capacity floors instead.

Five listing checks

  1. Photos of the actual item. The FTC says "If you don't see pictures of the actual item, you can't check its condition" (FTC). A stock photo tells you nothing about the unit you will get.
  2. The seller's definition of the grade. A grade of Good means marks invisible at "20 inches" on Back Market and "barely visible" at 12 inches on Amazon Renewed (Back Market, Amazon). Read the definition behind the word, not the word alone.
  3. The battery line. Look for a percentage or a "new battery" statement in the listing itself. If the listing does not state one, treat the battery as unknown and ask the seller.
  4. Accessory exceptions. Amazon says exceptions are "mentioned on the product detail page" (Amazon). Scroll to that section before you assume the charger or box is included.
  5. Returns and warranty. The FTC advises you to "Review the seller's terms and conditions, shipping fees, and return policies" (FTC). Save the warranty document before you pay, not after.

What to check before you buy

Screenshot each of these from the listing before you pay.

  • The seller's name and the program it sells under.
  • The grade word and the program page that defines it.
  • The battery statement, whether a percentage, "new battery" or nothing at all.
  • Any accessory exceptions on the detail page.
  • The return window, shipping fees and the warranty document.

The FTC's advice to review the seller's terms, shipping fees and return policies covers most of this list (FTC).

FAQ

Is refurbished the same as used?

No. Used is a plain description with no program behind it. Refurbished means work was done, and the seller's program page says what that work covered. Best Buy, for example, defines refurbished as "restored to like-new condition" (Best Buy).

Does refurbished mean the battery is new?

Only where the seller says so. Apple says "Refurbished iOS devices will come with new battery and outer shell" (Apple). Amazon Renewed, Back Market and Walmart Restored state capacity floors instead, from 80% up to 90% depending on the grade (Amazon, Back Market, Walmart).

Is "Excellent" at one store the same as "Excellent" at another?

No. Back Market's Excellent means marks invisible at "8 inches" (Back Market). Amazon's means no body damage visible at 12 inches (Amazon). eBay's means "no visible wear" (eBay). Treat each as its own definition.

Does a refurbished device come with a warranty?

It depends on the program and the listing. Walmart Restored Premium states a minimum one-year written warranty for most products (Walmart). Other programs vary by listing, so read the warranty document before you buy. Our warranties compared guide has the detail.

Will it come with the original box and charger?

Not necessarily. Amazon says item-specific exceptions are "mentioned on the product detail page" (Amazon). Check the listing with every seller, because accessories vary by item.

Does Rebuya check or grade these devices?

No. Rebuya sells nothing and inspects nothing. It shows each seller's own condition words, prices, warranty and returns side by side, then links you to the seller.

Next, read what refurbished means, or browse refurbished phones now.

Sources and method

Seller listings and prices can change after publication. How Rebuya collects prices · Affiliate disclosure. Some seller links may pay Rebuya a commission, without changing the listed price.